Is virtual reality more than just for fun?

There is a controversial issue about the role of virtual reality in life. Some gamers state that it has become more than a leisure time activity, while some parents argue that it cannot go beyond the role of entertainment. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of growth of online world over its original limits.

Let us start with the reasons why some gamers think that virtual reality has grown into more than a type of entertainment. The first reason is that it allows people to work from home. A growing number of employees have turned their home into offices, because their employers allow them to do their duties remotely. Another reason is that people can communicate with other people on the Internet. The geographical constrains no longer limit people in communication, since the web allows them to make as well as chat with friends from all over the world. In fact, many single people even find their halves on social networking websites.

However, some parents believe that alternative reality is solely for amusement. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, it cannot substitute face-to-face conversation. People may spend most of their time living online, but they will have to admit the fact that real world is more important and accept the surrounding reality. Secondly, the Internet is unreliable for dating. Many gullible people get cheated by offenders, who pretend to be either a beautiful girl or handsome man. As a result, their victims lose money, but luckily they change their attitude about the virtual world.

In conclusion, even though some parents say that alternative world is incapable to break its limits, I think that it both transforms human life and of people how to live for the above mentioned reasons.