When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks and sports facilities, rather than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Building town can be a difficult process, especially designing the lay out to build the parks and public facilities or shopping centers. Although, Shopping centers helps in reducing the traffic jam and creates the job avenues, I believe that parks helps in developing a sense of community and sports facilities allow people to develop health life style.

Shopping centers helps in saving the time of people and creates employments opportunities. Because if shopping centers are not located in central place then people may have to commute to far- away places by modes of transport like cars or buses, in turn putting a strain on road infrastructure, In that case, cities may have to suffer a gridlock. Besides this, In India, in my town New-Delhi, shopping centers houses a large number of grocery stores and food cuisines. Therefore managers have to recruit a large number of youngsters. That’s why these shopping centers also creates job opportunities too.

On the other side, Parks are places where people can exercise and foster a sense of community. Parks having facilities like barbecue and exercise machines provide an ambience for people to cook and gather in their close groups and encourage old as well as young people to exercise. Sports facilities act as catalyst for people to have better healthy life-style. For example, In India, in my town, in the centrally located football ground, people can be seen playing friendly match on weekends. Moreover school-going children are often reminded after seeing this ground that it is important to engage in the physical activity

Even though shopping centers helps in reducing the traffic- jams and increase the job opportunities, in order to have amicable environment in the community, it is imperative to construct parks and sports facilities allows an individual to develop a healthy lifestyle.