Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

Gender equality has been a debating issue for many years. It is often argues that some jobs require specialized skill sets based on one’s gender. This essay will first discuss how work environment prevents women from excelling in particular role and secondly the society’s perception and acceptance on gender for some professions, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

Construction industry is considered as a male dominated industry due to its harsh nature and one requires a higher stamina to perform the duties. The typical stereotype of a construction site is an ogling, baggy trousered, wolf-whistling men in high viz jackets. A woman should not only be physically strong but be thick-skinned and emotionally powerful to survive in such a work environment. In a recent study done by Westwood University shown that 90% of female construction workers leave their jobs within the first 6 months due discrimination arose from their male co-workers and less endurance.

On the other hand, people opt for female hands for some specific careers such as nursing and child care. Even though a male has same qualifications and experiences as well as a female worker, employers prefer to recruit female workers due to the demand. General people believe that these jobs require empathy, better communication skills, love and affection towards others which are considered as intrinsic qualities of a woman. For instance, a recent survey carried out by Hong Kong Government revealed that 95% of full time working parents do not like to leave their children with male pre-school teachers.

To recapitulate, there are certain careers which requires specialized inherent qualities based on gender. Therefore, I agree to the fact that in limited circumstance, gender segregation is required for some occupations depending on its nature.