World history suggests that violence and conflict were more evident under male leadership than under female leadership. So, for peace to prevail, female leadership can be considered as a better option than male leadership.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Violence and conflicts, in the world history, were very common for rulers, and it is unlikely to blame only male rulers as peace breakers where woman rulers were responsible for this as well. I think that wars were the outcome of complex situations which did not dependent on gender of the leaders.

World’s greatest female leaders like Queen Elizabeth, Queen Isabella, Queen Victoria had ruled the world over a vast spectrum of power, and they had done anything to achieve their target. They were not the anomalies of the history, but they were the examples for others who wanted to go beyond the boundaries to achieve their target. In addition, if we think about Margaret Thatcher, former British Prime Minister, we will find that she had to face many violent situations which were unprecedented. For this reason, she is regarded as “Iron Lady”.

The two greatest wars of modern history, World Wars I & II, have taught us that wars are impersonal. Race, religion, nationality, sex are only pretences to the universally human lust for power. It is true that during both the global conflicts men were in the rulers’ thrones. But it will be foolish to say that Margaret Thatcher, the famed Iron Lady who spared no road against a minnow enemy in the war of Falkland, would be more peacefully diplomatic than how the greats Winston Churchill and Franklyn D. Roosevelt had been tackling the Axis of Hitler.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that peace does not depend on the gender of the leaders but on their leadership qualities and on the demand of the situations.