Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

It is true that countless people give priority to move by car rather than by buses or trains. In my opinion, hassle-free movement can be the key reason for this situation and government could encourage people to use public transportations by giving tax privilege.

Primarily, citizens of many countries prefer to have a car as a mode of transportation, as it ensures stress-free as well as comfortable travel and the user does not need to wait for others. Furthermore, automobiles are blessings for the owners for a quick response. In an official emergency, for example, the person who has a private car, he would be able to get to the office quickly than others. So the reasons to choose to travel by a car cannot be denied.

However, the privilege of having an income tax reduction could be a better option for the government, which will be motivating for the passenger to use public vehicles. If a person moves by bus or train regularly, he will get some concession at the time of submitting yearly income tax. For instance, in many developed countries like Sweden, Denmark, the government has introduced ‘Thirty Percent Tax-Free’ scheme to encourage people to use local transports. Finally, privilege regarding tax could create some effects on people’s mind regarding the use of the public transportations.

In conclusion, although I think that many people are interested to use cars instead of buses or trains mainly for comfort, the government can change the situation by introducing a privilege like income tax reduction.