Write an essay about the advantages and disadvantages of online learning.

Presently, all over the world is coping with the worst pandemic ever caused by novel coronavirus which damages the lungs and respiration system leading to severe pneumonia. As a result, human’s lives have been changed dramatically in every facet, especially in education, playing a vital function in the world today. Students no longer have a chance to attend chalkboard classrooms, and this situation leads to the emergence of online learning as a temporary alternative which contains not only fantastic merits but also a wide variety of drawbacks.

On the one hand, with online education, pupils save a lot of time. Students spend an average of about 2 hours a day commuting to the campus, plus the time waiting for lecturers and other students, obviously wasting the valuable period of time to do other beneficial activities such as reading books or doing exercises. Additionally, they have to invest another long period of their leisure time on relaxing to get back the energy after finishing school, which is indeed time-consuming. Besides that advantage, online courses give students full control over their own learning. They are able to move faster through areas of the course they are comfortable with, but slower through those that they need a little more time on. Online learning apparently lets pupils have more time to explore both their inner and outer world.

On the other hand, students who want to acquire knowledge effectively via technological tools have to be self-motivated and self-disciplined. The transformation from physical class to online class needs the power of good manners and a lot of effort. It requires them to set deadlines, make use of time-management skills and be really strict to themselves. In addition, they have to be curious, and hunger to find the perfect answers for hard questions. Humans need to be satisfied with what they are doing to keep them inspired. Besides that, they have to be clever enough to filter the information they access on the Internet. They need to know whether that information is true or not. If they can deal with these disadvantages, search engines will be their trusted and best teacher ever.

Everything in this world has its own pros and cons, and the mission of humans is to take advantage of the good side and avoid the bad one. Students can benefit a lot from online learning such as saving time or adjusting their own learning speed depending on their ability. However, they need to get rid of the disadvantages such as having to be self-disciplined and be calm amid mind-blowing sources of information.