Writing task 2 (an essay)

Nowadays we can watch TV shows of criminal trials. Do the advantages of making such information available to the general public outweigh the disadvantages?

There are some countries such as the US, where court cases are televised, so that the public can view them. There are arguments in favour of, and arguments against such televising. This essay intends to discuss the pros and cons of televising criminal courts. I personally, believe, the merits outweigh the demerits.

There are many arguments for televising court proceedings. Firstly, by allowing the televising of the court cases, efficient and fair trials will be ensured. Because of televising many people will be able to access the court cases and also will be able to criticize the judges for engaging in a trial insincerely. Secondly, if we can all watch trials, we will become more confident in our legal system. The effect of televising the court cases would allow people to know better of judiciary system, and give them knowledge of law related issues. It is the way to enhance trust towards the justice system by making the court transparent and open.

Furthermore, right to know is a fundamental right all people have. They should be able to know what happens during the trials. Journalist are allowed to write reports of the proceedings, but written judgements are not enough. These are full of odd words and complicated sentence constructions. Therefore, articles written by reporters about trials, don't satisfy people's right to know.

What is more, televising trials could prevent many crimes, as a lot of people would not want their cases being shown. The showing of the cases would aware the potential criminals of the treatment they will receive when they commit crimes and discourage them from doing it. Finally, some families or victims may not be able to go to the trial but they can follow it on TV from a safe distance.

On the other hand, one of the arguments used by those who are fundamentally skeptical about the whole development, is that the presence of cameras could distort the very nature of the process. The jurors may be influenced by the media coverage. In particular, it has been argued that televising the events could act as a deterrent to victims and witness giving evidence. Witnesses will lose their anonymity, as everyone in the country will know their face. To add to it, showing trials on TV could turn lawbreakers into celebrities. The procedure might turn into entertainment like in the Judge Judy show.

To conclude, televising the trial court has both merits and demerits. However, the benefits definitely have an edge over the drawbacks.