WRITING TASK 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the era of high tech speed technology and the widespread accessibility to the technology , internet has become an essential part of every ones day to day life. This eminent usage of Internet has revolutionized the behavioral and consumption aspect of a common man. As a result of which, indeed newspapers are becoming a thing of the past.

With an estimate of 80% population having access to a mobile device and internet, people are now more active on apps, specially social media. As the trends in the IT sector and marketing are evolving rapidly, today all major social media apps are being used to highlight news, and allow users with a platform to voice their opinions, thus, most users specially belonging to the group of Gen X and Gen Z which encompasses 50% of the total population , have completely resigned from the usage of newspapers or magazines.

Apart from this, with the current rise in the awareness around sustainability, a lot of campaigns have targeted the issue of deforestation very passionately and reduce the usage of paper, as a result of which almost 98% news channels and Magazines have moved digitally as well to support the initiative as well as follow the trend.

Having said that, there is still a sect of population which still is a huge fan of the fragrance that a fresh piece of paper holds and a cup of tea in hand.

This not only includes men and women with age ranging above 40 but about 10% of the population from the Gen X and Gen Z which in this digital world are still pretty old school.

For them, a newspaper is not just a piece of information but rather a habit that they look forward to in their day to day life.

Thus, concluding, that in this world where world wide web has completely engulfed us and made our life extremely easy, the charm of newspapers has very much declined with a possibility to not even exist in future.