Young people spend less of their free time with their family nowadays. What are the reasons for this? Are there more negative or positive sides to it?

The youth of the current generation have complete liberty to decide each and every moment of their life. Due to this unrestrained freedom, many young people do not prefer to spend most of their leisure time with the family. In this essay I will discuss in detail about the reasons for why teenagers do not prefer spending their spare time with the family which I feel has more negative effects.

Nowadays, young people prefer spending most of their leisure time in social media. This is mainly because they are too much addicted to the technology, and do not understand the value of family relations. In a recent survey by ‘Healthy Family’ organization, it was found that the young people of the current generation prefer nuclear family than joint family as they feel their privacy is more important the relations. Similarly, some teenagers love to spend their free time by watching movies or soap opera in television or theatres with their friends as they feel the former makes them more relaxed than the latter. This change in perception towards families and relatives has adversely affected the value of relations.

I personally feel that this change has more negatives than positives as this cultural change will affect the attitude of the next generations. In India, for example, parents used to sacrifice their life for the well-being of their children, and if these children become selfish in the future, these parents would be destitute of love and money. In addition to this, these teenagers do not understand the meaning f love and trust and hence become more self-centered and lack confidence. If these changes continue further, our next generations would not live in harmony of family relations, which will adversely affect the world as well.

In conclusion, as the youth of the current generation is more reliant on technology and spend most of their leisure time in social media and television, they are oblivious about the need for family and relationships, and I feel this is definitely a negative impact on the society.