1. Which area the government should fund to improve children’s education?

a) hiring more teachers to teach in a small class

b) preschool education before kindergarten

c) providing some training courses so that teachers can be more professional

Children are the future of a nation, so the government should shoulder the responsibility to boost children’s education. While some believe that offering teachers some training courses and providing preschool education before kindergarten are good choices, others are more proactive in hiring more teachers to teach in a small class. In my opinion, I agree that the government should fund small-class teaching with more teachers.

First of all, a good student-to-teacher ratio guarantees teachers spend more time on individual students, ensuring higher teaching quality. Children have a lot of problems to be taught, like emotion control, intelligence development, and positive mindsets. Teachers have to spend enough time to put their heart into it, which leads children to be well-rounded people. Drawing from my personal experience, I enrolled at a Beijing’s elementary school with thirty students and three teachers in a class. We could communicate with the teacher in charge of the mental health of children about the puzzles we encountered when dealing with families and friends. We also could ask the academic teacher about the mathematic problems after class. And we could play with the rest of the teacher, learning how to be optimistic from the game failures. Therefore, the government should put money into recruiting more teachers for the attention gained by children.

Secondly, with smaller classes, students can be more involved in group projects and class discussions and thus have the opportunities to develop a variety of skills. In a smaller size class, each group would have a little number of students, like three to five, so that they can more likely to develop communication skills and coping skills during cooperation. For example, a three-people group is discussing a difficult algebra problem. Members would spend a little time introducing the part they don’t understand, and someone who happened to excel in this knowledge would learn to be patient to solve the problems. During this process, children hone the required qualities in communication which are clarity and patience; besides, they also boost their problem-solving skills by helping others unwind from obstacles. By contrast, if such a discussion happens in a group with over ten people, it is more likely that the topic would soon be irrelevant to the study and turns into gossip. So, considering the learning results of smaller classes, the government should invest in them.

Arguably, preschool education before kindergarten prepares children for a solid knowledge system; and providing training courses for teachers keeps them updated with the cutting-edge teaching techniques and theoretical methods. Hence, the educational quality of children would be improved. However, the drawback far outweigh the benefits. Both would pose financial burdens for the government because it requires long-term investment.

In conclusion, due to the well-developing and learning results, I strongly believe that the government should hiring more teachers in a small class to improve the educational quality.