In 1939, David O Selznick produced a film of Margaret Mitchell’s Pulitzer Prize winning novel, Gone with the Wind. The movie proved to be among the most important in the history of world cinema. To this day, in fact, it remains the American box office champion when adjusted for inflation. In 1940, the film won a record-breaking eight Academy Awards, including Best Picture. Recently, however, Gone with the Wind has increasingly come under fire due to allegations of racism in the movie. Consequently, its reputation has fallen in many critical circles.

The film tells the story of a Southern family who fight on the side of the Confederacy in the American Civil War. Scarlett O’Hara, the main character, is a slave owner whose civilization goes to war to preserve the right to own and degrade African Americans. Life before the Civil War, during the days of slavery, is depicted as a golden age.

Scarlett’s maid and confidante, Mammy, is not even given a first name in the script. Meanwhile, Butterfly McQueen, who portrayed Prissy, a house servant whom Scarlett slaps across the face at one point in the film, was told by the director to deliver a hysterical performance emphasizing the character’s dim-wittedness, speaking to age-old negative stereotypes. Civil rights activist Malcolm X wrote of his embarrassment seeing Butterfly McQueen’s performance as Prissy that it made him want to crawl under the rug of the theater.

For all of these reasons, when watching Gone with the Wind today, modern viewers cannot help but feel admiration for how far the movie industry has come since its infancy. There is much to be embarrassed about in the early days of Hollywood films.

Summarize the points made in the lecture you just heard, explaining how they cast doubt on points made in the reading.

Gone with the wind is one of the greatest movie made of all time. It won eight academy award. The text states that although the movie was most important movie in world cinema but it was racist and demeaning for certain communities. On the contrary the lecturer think that the ideas in the text is totally overstated.

The lecturer thinks that the movie has shown women limited opportunities for women outside household community which was true at that time but also help create job opportunities for black people in film industry. Although the text suggest that it is demeaning for the women folks.

Manny who is the main character's maid has not been given a first name also but as the lecturer enlighted the class that despite of it Manny was potraid as the very rich character. Manny was unafraid for speech even in front of her masters and warm towards the loved ones. The actress that potraid the role of Manny became the first african women to win a academy award.

McQueen who was a slave was potraid as the worst character in the movie, she was stereotyped and was given dim-wittedness. The lecturer thinks in the opposite way. McQueen as a character Prissy was unafraid of the world. She was rebellious in nature and discontent with her situation.

Time has changed, slavery has been abolished and promotion of slavery has been judged in this new world. People have fought for the rights. They fought for equality of gender, color. In today's world the movie Gone with the Wind might look as racist, but it has potraid the truth of the era and enlightend the audience with the problem that the society faced.