In 20 years from now on, students will not use printed books anymore.

Witnessed by the rapid progress of technology, e-readers are no longer considered as something very rare and strange, but are widely accepted and become popular especially among the young people. And meanwhile, there is a curiosity about whether the e-book will take the position of printed books, and students from that would no longer use the printed books in twenty years. Despite the amazing spreading speed of e-books, I still believe that the printed will not completely disappear in this short period of time.

It is quite common for some people to claim the e-books are cheaper than paper books when talking about the price problem. However, the rapid updating and the hardness of maintenance make them do not cheap at all. Every year, the Apple Company, the Amazon Company, or even the Huawei Company would come up with a new generation of products. These prompt students to frequently update their equipment, or if some new functions of new generation are used in the class or homework, they may find it hard to keep up with the teachers. Also, the e-books on the e-readers are not cheap at all, especially for some e-books that has additional functions.

When we are talking about the prices, another factor can hardly remain unseen, which is the hardness of maintenance. Paper books do not need much carefulness. You can throw them to any places without worrying about the potential damages on the glass screen. What’s more, using printed books, never would you care about the battery power thing, which is a vital problem to concern about with e-readers.

Another essential reason is that 20 years maybe too short to enable this tremendous change. When laptops are invented in 1990s, it still costs them 20 years or more to conquer the world, and the desktops are not replaced at all! Even if e-readers would completely take the position of printed books in the end, 20 years is far from enough. Not to mention the e-books are still not widely introduced in some developing countries with low-level technology.

In nutshell, based on the previous discussions, I do not believe twenty years is enough for the e-books to erase the printed books from students’ usage. It may either needs more time or will not happen at all.