41)Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Only when the last river dries up, and humans realize that we cannot drink money, only then we are going to understand the importance of the environment. Personally, I think that the human needs of development are secondary to saving endangered animals. Nature is the one that provides us with resources in the first place, and I am going to explain my viewpoint in the following essay.

First, endangered species are important parts of the ecosystem. Much often, animals which are key to habitats are the most vulnerable and end up in danger lists. Moreover, the role they play in the wild is what makes them so important, without them, probably we could not farm in the first place. I will put my personal experience as an example, in my home country crabs are very desired as food and people used to fish them without control. Not so many years ago, they were almost extinct, and the ecosystem fell out of balance, affecting fishing activities. In the end, conservation measures had to be implemented and was at this point people realized the whole importance of the species.

Furthermore, humans only want more and more with no regarding of the consequences. We treat this planet like it is ours, but, in reality, we are only momentary passengers. This kind of thinking is what has gotten us in such deep problems as climate change or water shortages. For instance, all of us have witnessed how natural catastrophes are more and more frequent, Ecuador’s earthquake, Indonesia’s tsunami, it seems like we are getting back all the damage we have done.

For all of the points drawn above, I think that human needs come second to the conservation of Earth and its species. Nature grants us goods, and we should reciprocate, in addition, we cannot continue to indulge the destructive mindset that we have had until now. In the end, this is the only planet we can live in, so we should care for it.