5 Aug Many companies provide important products or services but also damage the environment Some people believe that the best way to stop companies from harming the environment is to require them to pay a penalty such as higher tax or a large fine when

Some companies are essential for societies because they provide vital products and services, which are necessary for people. However, in many cases, these companies are damaging the environment in order to generate these goods and services. There are various views to solve this problem, which some of them are awfully unpractical. For instance, some people adhere to the idea that requiring these companies to pay the penalty will be effective, which I entirely disagree with. As far as I am concerned, it will force companies to raise their prices, and there will not be done any constructive affair to save the environment. In the following, I will elucidate my rationale by advancing these two reasons.

The first crucial point to be mentioned is that forcing companies to pay fines will lead them to boost prices. Regrettably, currently, a myriad number of companies and plants are suffering from harsh worldwide economic conditions, so they will increase prices in order to compensate for the higher taxes and large fines. Obviously, the more they get fines, the more they will rise their goods and services prices. My own experience is a compelling evidence of this reality. Two years ago, with one of my friends, we were producing cat foods, and our factory was polluting the air. As a result, the government forced us to pay an enormous amount of money as fines. Then, we had to increase our products' prices in order to pay off the fines. Had we not been forced to pay the fines, we would not have increased the prices.

Second, fines and higher taxes will not be effective to save the environment because the money which is collected from companies that are polluting the environment is not spending on activities to save the environment. Actually, the government does not pay for scientists to establish different solutions to protect the environment. For instance, a recent study undertaken by the University of London demonstrated that almost all of environment-friendly activities are not founding by governments. This evidence evidently indicates that enormous taxes and fines will not be functional to preserve the environment.

In brief, all aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that there are superior ways rather than forcing companies to pay taxes and fines to preserve the environment. This is because higher taxes and fines will cause higher prices, and because the money gained from these taxes and fines will not spend on protecting the environment.