Agree or Disagree? It is more important to use land for human needs such as farming, housing, and industry than to save it for endangered animals.

We have been immersed in a controversial issue in land reclamation and protection, which might render a response to the pressure from the growth of population. However, if the habitats of endangered animals are invaded constantly, an ecological balance tends to be severely disrupted. I believe only through setting aside land for endangered animals can such a dilemma be solved.

Admittedly, if there is insufficient supply of farming field, the crop output might suffer from a considerable reduction. With respect to humanitarian, nobody wishes to witness the rootless existence of those who are lack of housing space. A statistical survey conducted by the U.N. suggests that the global population would exceed ten billion in 2050, which is a warning to us that fields for farming, housing, and industry will be intensively developed. Meanwhile, whether governments of developed countries in Europe or developing countries in Africa, they both face a survival crisis. Nevertheless, from the perspective of ecological balance, the government should enact a plan of land reclamation to maintain all habitats of endangered animals.

First, the biodiversity of the planet is getting unbalance due to the extinction of animals. Such a problem has intensified over recent decades with unprecedented urbanization, which is increasingly critical in developing countries because of the soaring up of economic progress. To illustrate, endangered species like jaguars and polar bears are disappearing at an alarming rate resulting from an excessive exploration. On the other hand, offshore overfishing along the Pacific and Atlantic coast can affect marine ecosystem globally. It is crucial that the Earth should embrace substantial numbers of various species, which is a prerequisite to maintain a well-balanced ecosystem of Mother Nature. Therefore, humans should be on a mission of saving habitats for animals, which can be equal to saving human lives.

Moreover, the reservation of animals’ habitats can ensure further development of human society. Scientists often draw inspiration from thoroughly studying animals in their natural habitats, which can offer necessities to satisfy the most fundamental demand of human survival. For example, spiders living in the Amazon rainforest can spin webs which can be utilized as materials to manufacture strong fibers. Also, snakes inhabiting in Sichuan Province can secrete venoms to help pharmacy industry develop derivatives. If these animals were extinct, humans would be unable to enjoy advantages from nature, which can prove that countless animals benefit humans both commercially and medically. Thus, setting aside fields for endangered animals, scientists can keep them alive and study how to take advantage of the natural.

In summary, the harmony between humans and nature is indispensable, which can benefit mankind in a sustainable way. Hence excessive exploitation ought to be prohibited strictly and endangered animals should be protected cautiously.