Agree or disagree ? Universities should give the same amount of money to their students' sport activities as they give to their university libraries.

Universities are the most important and decisive organizations which have the responsibility to train and educate noble and creative people. The universities spend their budgets in severeal categories such as laboratories, classes, libraries, sport activities and so on. In my view, universities should spend more money on their libraries than on students' sport activities for one major reason.

The library is one main cores of a university. In order to do a thorough and comprehensive research, students need to refer to a vast variety of references, including books, magazines, articles, thesises and papers. Since the first and foremost responsibility and duty of a student is studying and researching, the university must provide all the required facilities for students so that there is no obstacle in pursuing their academic goals and also, they have no further excuse. With that being said, universities should spend more money on developing and extending their libraries in terms of scientefic references, both printed and digital. For example, when I was working on my master of science thesis in the Ferdowsi University of Mashhad, I needed to read several articles related to my thesis subject, in order to perform a comprehensive literature survey. When I went to our central library to request those articles, I found out that I canot access to them since they were not free and the university couldn't provide them for me neither, because the lack of funding resources regarding library expanses. As a result, I went through a lot of difficulties and hardships to finally get an access to those articles and therefore I lost some precious time because of that. From this personal experience, I firmly believe that expending more money on libraries must be one of top prorities of every university.

On the other hand, if the university spend more money on sport activities rather than libraries, although there may can be some achievements in sport tournaments, but the overall outcome would be harmful for the university's reputation. In fact, if the university does not provide the necessary scientific resources for the students by means of expanding the libraries, the students of that university will have to refer to other libraries outside the university. As a result, that university will be stigmatized as a university which cannot even provide the mere basics for its students researches and academic works. Consequently, this university will gradually lose its students through time.

In sum, I strongly believe that the university budgets must be assigned based on priorities, and the library is one of the main, if not the most important one. Hence, I suggest that the universities do not spend same amount of money on students' sport activities, and instead, develop and improve their library resources and facilities to further provide a desired academic atmosphere for their students.