Agree or disagree? While doing their homework, it is okay for students to use their cell-phones to surf the internet or listen to music.

Education, the foundation of a quality of life, has been valued and even triggered a heated discussion over whether multi-tasking hinders students’ learning. Surfing internet and listening to music while studying, in some people’s perspective, prove to be ineffective. Contrary to those people’s opinion is my view that doing other things such as surfing internet and listening to music can contribute positively to students’ learning both academically and psychologically.

What must be prioritized is that browsing internet during study is beneficial to students’ learning by offering more information and developing their information technology skills. To begin with, surfing internet enables students to obtain a large quantity of knowledge and information during the learning process. In detail, students can search for a wide range of knowledge in language, history, and arts through internet; in contrast, , students’ knowledge base must be restricted if they are forbidden to get access to internet when studying alone. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of surfing internet to developing students’ information technology skills. To explain further, when students use internet to assist their learning, their information technology skills, highlighted in 21 st century, can be fostered significantly; on the other hand, this critical skill can never be developed if students always study independently in an old-fashioned way.

What should be equally worth discussing is that listening to soft music while studying can contribute to students’ learning outcomes by raising concentration as well as releasing pressure and anxiety. Initially, it is well acknowledged that when provided with soft background music, students will be more concentrated on their tasks. To be specific, if students listen to background music, they will not be disturbed by the environmental noise and can be fully immersed in their work; however, they might be easily distracted and disrupted by others if they study without music. Additionally, it is the soothing music that releases students’ anxiety and pressure during study. To elaborate, listening to music could make the learning process more relaxing and less anxious as students may frequently suffer from learning anxiety and pressure in their academic work, which is proved to inhibit academic performances significantly; otherwise, those who are not accompanied with reassuring melody must easily generate anxiety and pressure while they are performing academic activities.

Not only can students benefit from surfing internet during study, but also they can learn more efficiently with soft music. To conclude, doing other things like surfing internet and listening to music impose beneficial impact on learning.