Being dishonest is ok sometimes

Needless to say, lying is one of the most revolting traits among people. As telling lies can be sweet since it gives you what you want, it brings too many disadvantages for any situation, say in a work environment to family and friendships. In my opinion, verbal dishonesty has no excuse, as it clearly can be destructive in many aspects, which I will discuss two of them.

Firstly, lies can be poisonous to relationships. One of the foundations of a thriving relationship between two parties is honesty. My personal experience provided me an enduring lesson of always telling the truth, or your words can wipe out years of trust. Years ago, when I was in high school, I was invited to a school party from one of my close friends. At that time, I was really introverted, so I did not enjoy parties in general, but my friend kept on bragging about this party that I could not resist. So, I asked my parents for permission, but they did not want me to go to that party for they were strict. So, I had to find another way to sneak my way out of my house. On the night of the event, I said that I feel sick and I went to bed early. Then I changed and used the window to get out of my room. I asked one of my friends to give me a ride to the party. But later that night, my mother came to my place to check up on me, and she found an empty bed with a widely open window. So, they were looking for me while being worried. After a while, they reached out to me by one of my friends and came to the party to pick me up. I never forget the disappointment in the faces that night. Had I not lied that not, I would have been able to keep my parents' trust, but by then, it was a lost cause.

Secondly, many people believe that telling lies will bring about more lies in society. As many people lie in different circumstances, more are willing to take the same approach, but the most notable victims of this behavior are probably children. As for adults, it is somehow convenient to cast out some lies, but children cannot understand the difference between moral and wrong behavior. They find lies as a way of achieving something, and they tend to use it more often. For example, my sister had the habit of avoiding telephone calls. So, whenever she had a call, she would ask my little sister, who was four at that time, to tell the other side of the phone that she is not available. My little sister found this act contradicting, but after a while, she thought it is okay to say things that are not precisely accurate. Thus, these thoughts led to her lying to our parents about the amount of time she had spent on the computer daily or the fact that she had eaten all the chips in the kitchen. Children are fast learners, even if it is learning something negative.

All in all, I think dishonesty has more drawbacks than most people believe. As it is the promotion of more lies throughout society, it can be the death of many friendships. I think there are other ways to evade not telling the truth; Such as silence or using better vocabulary in describing an undesirable situation. If you want not to give your opinion on a case, it is better to change the subject rather than using false words.