A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (aged 14-18) improve their teaching. It is

considering two plans:

—Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for

additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and

provide that training for other teachers in school;

—Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online materials

that each teacher will study individually.

As far as I am concerned, first plan is more practical and effective in helping the teachers to improve their teaching.

First and foremost, choosing a small group of teachers to attend lectures could save time and money. Since these teachers are excellent, there will be little difficulty for them to understand the training lectures by experts. Therefore, the lectures won't take very long time. On the other hand, because these teachers will only spend a short time in taking the course, the expense will not be a burden for the school. However, the online courses in the second plan have certain weakness. If the lectures are live, the expense per hour is huge and the schedule is not flexible. Nevertheless, if the lectures are video recordings, the contents may be out-of-date or of inferior quality. Therefore, in terms of economy and time, offline courses are more reliable.

Moreover, offline lectures are more likely to replicate or approximate the high school teaching scenarios because highschool students and teachers speak to each other face to face in reality, in which, for instance, body languages such gestures often get involved in order to make themselves understood. And apparently, attending the lectures in person rather than through Internet could examine if the knowledge is easy to understand when the media and locations are both limited. For example, if you attend online training classes, there is little chance to communicate with others and the experts are neither able to know whether they are understood.

Last but not the least, the process that teachers attending the experts lectures provide training for other teachers is also of great significance. This process is similar to the product testing before the final release. Before some teaching methods are employed in the real classed, those methods should be modified or adapted due to the difference between the theories and practice. And in the process that trained teachers provide training for other teachers, the methods could be tested and localized in order to fit the actual situations in the school. Many factors could influence the effect of those up-to-date methods. For example, the average teachers and distinct students all should be considered.

In conclusion, it is better to attend the experts in person and provide training for other teachers later. Not only because of the economy and money, but also because the offline courses provide similar scenarios and the sharing process can test and modify the methods.