A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Our community plays a very crucial role in our daily lives. That is where we live and spend a great amount of our time there. If a large factory was going to be built near our community, there would be some advantages and some disadvantages to this addition which I am going to discuss. Some people may disagree with this addition, others would agree. In my view, in spite of all disadvantages that we may face, this addition is beneficial and I strongly support it for two main reasons.

A new factory built in every community may cause air pollution and have a bad effect on people's health by discharging some air-contaminant gases to the atmosphere. This new factory would also create some traffic problems in the neighborhood. For instance, 10 years ago, when I was living in Tehran with my family and grandparents, a new car factory was built by government to expand the industry of a specific car. My grandfather was suffering from a heart disease in that time. After the addition, his general health condition deteriorated and when we visited a doctor to ask for the reasons of the aggravation, he stated that the increased pollution in the city and heightened amount of greenhouse gases in the air is the cause of this problem. We also came across some more traffic jams every day and more of our daily time was wasted. This experience taught me that adding a new factory may bring some drawbacks that have to be considered.

Considering the benefits that a new factory would provide, the condition of the community after the addition may not be as bad as we thought. Above all, a new factory added to any city, will create jobs and provide more tax revenue for the city. As you know every structural process will require its own special designers and engineers in order to be accomplished. Enhanced amount of jobs will also raise the tax income which would benefit the city. For example, in the same time that I mentioned, couple friends of mine and some of my previous classmates were hired during both structural and operational process of factory. On the other hand any defects in city facilities drew the authorities' attention sooner than ever in order to be taken care of, all because more budget was available for the city due to increased tax income. As you can see, there are some beneficial points that come after creation of a new factory in a community which are the main reasons of my support,

To sum up, even though after adding a new factory, the community may resent some problems such as pollution and traffic, but the benefits that follow this addition such as new jobs and more tax revenue outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore I advise every community to embrace such an opportunity and take advantage of the good points.