Compare the advantages and disadvantages of requiring college freshman to complete at least a year of college classes before selecting a major versus having them choose right away. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a huge debate about whether the freshman should take a year college classes before choose their major. Some argue that the requirement will waste the student time therefore waste their money. In the contrary, the freshman who spent at least a year before choosing their major, come more informed thus they usually have higher GPA. I personally believe that the latter is more suitable for me because several advantages and disadvantages that I would like to compare in this essay.

In one hand, requiring freshmen to choose their major immediately will benefit them financially and academically. First, they most likely spent less money for the college tuition since they will able to finish the entire essential subject and credit earlier. Second, for freshmen who already know exactly what major they would like to pursue, started the major faster will give them a longer time to finish their research. In fact, the students who work on their research longer, most likely produce more comprehensive, well written and extensive year end thesis

In the other hand, a freshmen who spent at least one year before started their major will have several advantages. First, They will be able to adjust to university life before take on a bigger responsibility. From my experience, transition from a high school to a university could be very overwhelming. I confused about the study plan, how to choose a valid resources for my homework, and how to orient myself in laboratory. This will resolve by spend more time in university before started the major.

Second, the one-year college classes also prepare me to fulfill my compulsory subject before I started my major. For instance, a student must have a prerequisite knowledge in advanced math before they can pursue public health major. The math is very important to support the epidemiology subject in public health. Lastly, the one-year additional time also gives the freshman to made up their mind about their major, they will able to research more before committed to one. Ultimately, because they are well informed before choose the major; they will likely finish the program with flying color.

In conclusion, the requirement of taking a college classes at least a year have advantages and disadvantageous. With all the things considered, I prefer to have at least one year before committed to my major since I believe the requirement will benefitted the most