A/D: In order to attract more tourists, government should improve the safety by hiring more police or improve the appearance by improving the old buildings and streets

Views differ considerably when it comes to the issue of which government should improve so as to appeal to more tourists: hiring police or improving the appearance by repairing old buildings and street. I, personally, think that both of them can benefit attracting more tourists and the government can actually do both approaches to achieve the goal and maximize the benefits.

To begin with, tourists have safety concerns when traveling, and providing tourists with safety by hiring more polices satisfies their needs. For example, Taiwan is always considered as one of the safest country in the world because of a large number of police officers. Taiwan government allocates lots of money on security of people and training of police. When tourists encounter difficulties such as robbery, getting lost and kidnapping, they can immediately call for help from police officers and police will help as soon as possible. Unlike other country, Taiwan Police Bureau offer 24 hours services in case that some tourist can play safe in the night club. As a result, Taiwan was ranked as the best place to travel in Asia by CNN Traveling Magazine owing to its perfect safety.

In addition, tourists really needs advices when traveling abroad, and well-train local police officers can supply them with useful information related to the attractions. For instance, in Japan, the police is not only for the purpose of safety but also for the reason to help tourist. When I traveled Japan, I often faced a lot of obstacles. I could not find the way back to my hostel and I would easily got lost in complex transportation systems in Japan. Then, I asked a handsome and considerate Japanese police to help me find the right direction. Thanks to the effort of police, I could have fun and saved some time in my journey and had unforgettable memory there. Consequently, the Japan is always my first choice to visit.

On the other hand, improving appearance can also boost tourist economy because the reason why tourists come to visit is to expose themselves to exotic culture. That is the tourists care about the quality of the appearance of building and street. Imagine that, if you come to the place that is ugly and too devastated to be able to be visited, I think you would not willing to come here again at all. Therefore, enhancing the old building and street is essential to attract tourist.

To conclude, in the reality, the government have to put no effort to attract tourists to increase country’s incomes anyway. Thus, if both improving the appearance and hiring police can contribute to encouraging tourists to come, why not make use of these two methods to maximize the advantages.