Do you agree with the following statement. Nowadays people spend more time on things they like to do rather than what should do.

It is clear that advances made in different areas have provided a wide range of hobbies for people. While some people believe that people spend more time on hobbies than they do on the activities they should do, I am of the opposite opinion. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, these days people have to work longer hours to make enough money to support their family and have less time left for leisure activities. In today's world making enough money to cover all of our expenses and needs has probably gotten harder than any other time in human history. In the modern world a large number of people prefer living in cities for different reasons which is very expensive. Therefore, they have to work more and even have several jobs at the same time. My father's experience is a good example of this. He works five days a week for a company, but the salary he gets is not enough which is why he has another job in a supermarket where he works on Thursdays to earn some more money, so he has only Friday left for hobbies and spending time with family.

Furthermore, increasing competition in area of education has forced students to spend much more time on studying than people did in the past. To increase their chance of success in getting into a good college or university and eventually getting a good job, students have to study longer hours, take extra courses besides their university and school and stay up late at night to finish assignments and projects on time. My own daily schedule is a compelling illustration of this. Besides four hours of studying at school, I have a trigonometry and a chemistry class. In addition I spend three hours a day preparing for TOEFL and two hours for preparing for the SAT. I usually get up at 4 A.M. and go bed at 11 P.M. so, I do not have time for activities other than studying from Saturday to Thursday.

To sum up, I think these day people spend more time on doing necessary things than things they like to do because they have to work more to earn enough money and study harder to increase their chance of success.