Do you agree or disagree? Asking children to work in small groups is the best way to teach young children.

The most efficient ways with which humans can enhance the learning process have always been a matter of attention. Throughout history, so many people have theorized about that. When it comes to children, it will be more vital since it is believed nowadays that learning is faster and more constant in the early stages of adaptations of human beings: childhood. In this line of thought, whether or not learning is at its highest efficiency when children are required to work within smaller groups is the topic of this essay. The writer is not in favor of this argument.

No one can deny the fact that group work requires young children to cooperate, and out of cooperation comes learning. When children try to memorize a poem with their peers, all the joy and fun of doing this task with their friends is the fact that helps them do that in a more feasible way. However, there is a myriad of problems associated with this approach.

First, when assigned to work within smaller groups, young children are inclined to rely on other diligent members of the group. It was tested in numerous experiments that since people are not held accountable individually in group work, they tend to not put in their best effort. Needless to say, learning happens when juveniles practice some activities. In this way, when they don’t do something meaningful and only rely on other group members' performance, it is fair to say that they can’t learn anything at all.

Second, it is an arduous job to control young children when they are aggravated in a room. This is because they tend to make a lot of noises, or nag about the other person’s color of shirt, or do something as basic and rudiment as crying because of being hungry. This chaotic situation makes controlling young children’s gatherings so hard to control. If those in charge of teaching them cannot control the situation, children are not able to learn anything at all since all of these things may bring about distraction. I don’t think there’s any person out there who doesn’t believe that distraction can get in the way of learning.

So, what do I think is the most feasible way of teaching children? It was long thought that children are keener than old people. In fact, there are a lot of moments when you see a child watching TV while his or her mother is talking on the phone. The next day you see that kid imitating the way his or her mother was talking on the phone. In other words, children are passive learners. They don’t need to be constantly focused on a matter to learn everything about it. All they need is just the presence: that they are in places where something worth learning is happening.

To conclude, I think placing juveniles in places where they can passively grasp the concepts we want to teach them is the most effective way to teach them new materials.