Do you agree or disagree ?The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past?

Family is one of the most important societies that a person lives in and it prepares us for participating in the bigger societies. While some people believe that the influence of the aunts and uncles on our lives in the same as before, I strongly believe that it is becoming less significant. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, financial problems are pushing people further from each other. While people in the past could have simple lives with lower working hours, nowadays, people have to work harder in order to overcome economic difficulties. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About 15 years ago, I and all my family members gathered at my grandmother’s house at the weekends. But as the economic situation became more complicated, my parents didn’t have much time to visit their parents because they were supposed to work more hours per day. As a result, they were so exhausted at the end of the week so that they preferred to stay at home and get some rest.

Secondly, the traditions and perspectives of people about life have changed. In the past, having close relationships with relatives was considered a good way of living. However, nowadays, people think more about their individual lives and try to spend more time with their spouses and kids rather than their cousins and aunts. For example, In a small city like Neyshabour, people still have a traditional view and spend a lot of time with their extended families. Also, they try to teach this lifestyle to the next generation. I can remember the time which my aunts came to our house and wanted to leave at the end of the night, I became so sad that I cried and asked them not to; although I knew we were going to see each other soon. On the other hand, In a big city like Tehran, I know that some of my friends see their uncles just once a year and they seem not to have any problems with that.

In conclusion, I believe extended families are becoming less important. This is because people are becoming more busy with their occupations and also traditional views about family are altering.