Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, the school is regarded as one of the key factors contributing to the preparation of people for their future profession. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the types of courses that should be included in the school’s core curriculum. Many people adhere to the view that the topics should be focused on one subject, while others believe that students must be encountered with a variety of courses with different items. I strongly contend that it’s more effective to study various topics. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, studying various subjects allows you to become acquainted with different fields so that you can find your passion in one of them. Although you might find a better job if you are specialized in a subject, if you study many topics, there will be a lot of options for your future occupation. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. 4 years ago, when I entered the university to study computer engineering, students had to select their major between computer architecture, software engineering, and information technology. Not knowing about the courses and their syllabus made this choice a tough one. I opt for computer architecture, but some of our required topics are not convenient so, sometimes I regret my decision. On the other hand, computer students that arrived in the next year were allowed to select their preference after three years when they had passed some related courses to all of the majors and were partly familiar with them.

Secondly, it will increase your versatility. Starting a new job doesn’t require in-depth knowledge or many years of experience. Although these features are considered positive points, having a piece of general information about the profession and willingness to be successful and trying hard for it can also do the work. For example, as I mentioned, nowadays computer students become familiar with all aspects of computer engineering. They study algorithms, digital design, programming, operating systems, etc. As a result, when they want to look for a job, knowing many skills brings them a lot of choices. Even Though a student may go for the information technology major, he also has expertise in other fields and can handle the relevant jobs.

In conclusion, I believe that studying different subjects is better. This is because it makes you versatile, and you can easily find what you are good at.