Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the saying goes:"Don't put all the eggs in one basket." Personally, I agree with the statement that it is better to broad knowledge over many academic subjects than specializing in one subject. I feel this way for two reasons, which i will elaborate in the following essay.

First of all, I do have lots of friends in college who have more than one major, and I can totally relate to them. Because future career is much likely connected to your major in university, we college student always eager to seize more opportunities for our future. According to the course selection rules in our school, students have to choose courses beyond their specialize field, which encourages us to encounter different subjects. Take myself as an example, I chose a course from college of commerce as a freshman studied in college of communication, and it made me realize that I had more interest in studying business. Thus, I transferred my department the next year. The idea I want to emphasize is be open to new academic fields but not to confine yourself to the one you think is the best for you.

Secondly, life is short, and we do not have that much time to dive into one academic subject thoroughly since there is no correct answer to most of the questions in those fields. Looking back on the history, people who performed brilliant in specific fields always be recognized after years of their deaths, they spent their whole life on doing the same things, and even couldn't figure out the answer before death. I believe that things are all connected, so do academic subjects. Sometimes you have to change the position and see from another angle to figure out the answers.

In conclusion, I'm of the opinion that it's better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects . That's because it gives you more opportunities and also helps you see something you couldn't see from specializing one specific subject.