Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether all university students should be required to take the history courses has ignited controversies. Granted, history is an important subject that should receive enough attention from the pedagogical institution, we should not impose it indiscrimitively on every students, without considering whether learning history is an beneficial to them.

In a competitive world, university students face a lot of challenges and are required to learn tons of knowledge from their respective field. Under such pressure, adding a complusory course about history will only increase their burden. they will regard learning history as chores rather than pay much attention to it. such enforcement will probably make students hate history, and will have the contrary effect of what is intended to do.

Besides, even if we only add one or two complusory courses, which seems not to be demanding for students, what contents should we teach on these few courses? history is a complex field which contains various approaches to access to it. should we focus the national or global hisotory? should we pay more attention to the history of the 20th centery or things before that? In terms of a specified historic event, should we analyze it from the economic view, the political view or the technological view? different students have different interests as well. Hence, to determine what should be imparted to the students is an almost impossible tasks. if we try to include all the subdivision of the history discipline, students will only have a cursory view of the history. what's worse, if the contents are not appropriately designed, false historical ideas may reside in students' mind.

Some people might argue that instead of forcing all the students to take a general history course, we can allow students to choose their inclined courses independently. However, since the courses designed for the history major, which discuss in-depth issues and require preliminary knowledge, may overburden the students, a number of introductory courses are required to be set up. it is unrealistic for the history department to set up so many courses, give that they are mostly a small department in most universities.

The aforementioned arguments have clearly showed the suggestions of complusory history courses is not pratical. we should encourge students to learn history by other means, such as holding history lectures, promote history club. The university should stimulate the students to learn history on their own.