Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the universities' approach in determining courses on the students' success. In this regard, one controversial question is whether it is better that universities force students to take history courses or not. Despite the arguments asserting that the students should be required to take history classes, I believe otherwise, maintaining that taking history classes have negative effects on the students. To support this, there are myriads of reasons, two of which are going to be aptly elucidated in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that studying history could waste the students' energy and time. During the semesters, the students' time is limited. Therefore, it is far better for them to focus on the courses related to their major. By doing so, they will more successful in their future job. For instance, when I was a bachelor student, I had to get three history courses. Because of mandatory history courses, I could not get other courses that could help me to learn some software related to my field of study. Had not the university forced me to take history classes, I would have learned some extra information related to my career.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that all the students do not have an interest in history. Forcing all the students from different majors to take history classes, may decrease their motivation to study other courses which are important for them. Recently a study was carried out at the University of Tehran about the effect of irrelevant classes on the students' grades in the courses related to their major. Researchers evaluated the university's students' grades in different semesters in ten years period. According to the results obtained, in the semesters that the students had unrelated courses, they get 15 percent less in related courses compared to the semesters that they did not have irrelevant courses.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, one can conclude that history course can have adverse effects on the students because not only does it waste students' time and energy, but also it decreases their motivation in studying other courses.