Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.”

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The context of our modern society has awaken up a question for humans to begin with earnest that whether or not our students are responsible to include history in their courses. Skeptics believe that humans has come to the point when science subjects do get better of social ones. From my point of view, history plays the most critical role in laying the foundation which each individual needs to achieve.

On the one hand, history is the mirror which reflects the whole humans’ lessons throughout the course of time. Indeed, since the dawn of human civilization, our ancestor had an insight that our world was made up of a series of repeating events. Hence, the lack of historical knowledge facilitates the crises caused by historic mistakes to rise up over and over again. For instance, during the dark years of fascism in Germany, fascist authority did allocate an enormous part in national budget to conceal the true history under the mist of pseudo-evidence. As a result, millions of German children had been nourished by a misconception called racism. This crisis do usually appear in the countries in which a dictatorship trying to control its people. Therefore, the coming graduates are in urgent need of to be equipped with history no matter of their majors. This move is to ensure that terrible historic flaws would never be ignited again.

On another aspect, history is a nation’s identity. It is inevitable that our world has stepped inside the globalization process. In this context, independent countries, especially developing countries, are easy to lose its concept of tradition, culture, and standards of moral. In fact, the disappearance of these precious identities could raise the conflicts inside the country itself and the conflicts to the rest of the world. For instance, the constant hostility that lasted for years in Middle East has hamstrung the education of millions of children. The lack of historical skill did weaken their both self-awareness, caused a misconception of blind patriotism, then motivated the enlisting in terrorist organizations at the age of adolescence. At the consequence, the lack of history lessons did erode national identity, did fuel the core reason of almost the conflicts of the world afterwards, especially between the Islamic Nations and the West.

In conclusion, the modern society has blinded people with the dominion of technology over social subjects. The vast majority of us think that history is no longer the main subject. However, I do believe firmly that history is the most critical platform to build the world and schools should take responsibility to include this subject in the course of all area.