Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some schools will ask their students from different fields to take a history course as the requirement to graduate. Taking a history course can increase students' knowledge and broaden their horizons, while there are some drawbacks of this mandatory course. In my opinion, I disagree to have students take the history course

as their obligation. This essay will discuss about the disadvantages that can be derived from this measure.

First, most university students are overwhelmed by their own academic works from their professors. Students may under great pressure by taking an additional course just in order to graduate. Consequently, they’ll need to stay up late to study the subject which might be totally irrelevant to their major. Eventually, the students will be likely get higher chance to have some diseases. Furthermore, the mandatory history course can be a burden for them;thus, this impedes their willingness to acquire knowledge from history. At the end, there is likely to be lots of apathy in history courses among the students.

Second, this policy will increase the demand for history teachers. Hiring more teachers means the school has to pay more. As a result, the school needs to reschedule their budget and they might adopt the solution by increasing the tuition of students. For students who have difficulties to afford the cost for college, this could be a financial burden. They'll have to take more part-time jobs and have less time to focus on their studies. Eventually, the students will be likely to put little effort on history courses and nothing will they learn from it which can be considered as a waste of time.

To sum up, the history course should inspire students to learn more from the past.

However, students occupied with different works from their school or work can hardly spend time on it;thus, that asking students to take the course may not only spoil their interest in history but also increase their mental stress which may cause harm to their health and financial burden. Therefore, I am against the idea to have students in different majors to take a history course as demanded.