Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The pros and cons of learning history have brought a heated debate for several years. Personally, I strongly disagree with the opinion that history should be a required course. I feel this way for three main reasons, which I will further explore in the following essay.

First of all, learning history is a waste of time. Since most college students are already overwhelmed by their heavy workload, adding history to the required course list doesn’t seem reasonable. Take engineering students for example. Most of the engineering students have to spend a massive amount of hours doing experiments in a laboratory. As a result, learning history interferes with their studies and results in lower academic performance. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In my first year of college, I chose chemistry as my major and I took many courses which require conducting chemical experiments. We had to spend at least ten hours per week in a laboratory, which is extremely stressful. Moreover, since history is a compulsory subject, we had to take an extra course and had to spend additional hours doing our history assignment. The overwhelming workload made us burnt out, so many of us can’t concentrate on our chemistry courses and didn’t build up a solid foundation on our main subjects. This example demonstrates the redundancy of history courses, learning history is harmful to many engineering students.

Secondly, making history a compulsory course increases the school’s expenses. If every student is required to take a history course, additional teachers should be hired. As a result, the tuition fee will be increased in order to make up for the financial shortfall. For example, my friend, Abigail, who enrolled in NTU several years ago. In her second year of college, her school decided to make history a compulsory course and increased the tuition fee at the same time. The new policy urged people’s anger and they went on a protest. Finally, her college conceded and canceled the policy.

Finally, history is a subject which requires rote memorization. Learning things by memorizing isn’t beneficial and will not help us with our future career. Moreover, students can gain history knowledge by studying themselves or searching for information online. Recent research suggests that more and more companies require students who are able to harness some cutting-edge technologies rather than having sufficient historical knowledge. In this point of view, learning history is unnecessary and doesn’t help with our career.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that history should not be a compulsory course. This is because learning history is a waste of time and also because it increases tuition fee. Moreover, rote memorization doesn’t help students in any aspect of their studies and it will not benefit their future career.