TPO-50

The pros and cons of learning history have brought a heated debate for several years. Personally, I strongly disagree with the opinion that history should be a required course. I feel this way for three main reasons, which I will further explore in the following essay.

First of all, learning history is a waste of time. Since most college students are already overwhelmed by the heavy workload, adding history to the required course list doesn’t seem reasonable. Especially for engineering majors, they usually have to spend a massive amount of hours doing experiments in a laboratory. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In my first year of college, I took many courses which include experiments. We had to spend at least ten hours per week in a laboratory, which is very stressful. Moreover, since history is a compulsory subject, we had to spend extra hours doing a history assignment. The additional workload made us burnt out, thus many of us can’t concentrate on our major and didn’t build up a solid foundation on our main subjects. This example demonstrates the redundancy of history courses.

Secondly, making history a compulsory course increases the school’s expenses. If every student is required to take a history course, additional teachers should be hired. As a result, the tuition fee will be increased, which could be harmful to students. For example, my friend, Abigail, who enrolled in NTU several years ago. In her second year of college, her school decided to turn history into a compulsory course and increased the tuition fee at the same time. The new policy urged people’s anger and they went on a protest. Finally, her college conceded and canceled the policy.

Finally, history is a subject which requires rote memorization. Learning things by memorizing isn’t beneficial and will not help us with our future career. Companies and factories require students who are able to harness cutting-edge technologies rather than historical knowledge. Except for history majors, learning history is unnecessary.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that history should not be a compulsory course. This is because learning history is a waste of time and also because it increases tuition fee. Learning history is not beneficial for our career.