Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: To be a successful person, one must open up to new ideas and willing to change his or her mind.

As fierce competition in schools and at work arises, how to achieve success deserves more attention among the public. Some people argue that in order to be successful, individuals must be open-minded and accept new ideas whereas others prefer to stick to the existing plan and refuse to make a change. From my perspective,the latter one will be my first priority.

To begin with, new ideas can be mostly risky and add potential difficulties to the path of the success. changes will constantly happen no matter in what field,which in turn indicates that some new ideas, despite solving problems temporarily, can hardly be a long—term solution. For instance,a big company, which used to be world-known in the town,is in a faded area. Before the sunset,the enterprise encountered a cash flow problem due to the intense pressure of several investors. In order to deal with the issue, the boss called up for all staffs, one of which came up with an idea of borrowing money from other places. However, after borrowing money, the company continually lost preposition until it bankrupt. Until now, the boss did not know that some interior staffs modify the account book. Hence, it is hardly surprising that accepting new ideas is not the best option.

Secondly, the proposals raised by others are not easily applied at any circumstance. In other words,some new ideas,because of no evidence unsupported, can hardly be effective as people imagined when people take actions . Such is the case for a leader of a computer company. One computer could not work in a normal cycle, which gave rise to the attention of the leader. Unfortunately,the technicians were on vacation at that period,so the boss called the technicians about the issue ,and solving the problems by video has been proposed. However,it is very arduous for the customer to understand the instruction of the technicians. In the end, the company failed to address the problem no matter how many efforts have been put. So it does not take a genius to see that the proposal raised by others are not easily applied.

Admittedly,some ideas emerge that embracing new ideas can help people imitate others and avoid the mistakes that have been already made,leading to the higher likelihood of becoming successful. However, the people who are embracing new ideas will also lost chances. The smart phone company, which embracing the idea of imitating some functions of smart phones in other company was out of date because of lacking no down to earth effort on their own product.

As a result, embracing new ideas should hardly be the first choice.