Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling in a group is one of the popular options for people today, since they can put less efforts on the preparation of a trip. However, traveling by ourselves provides more merits other than convenience. Thus, I do not agree with the statement that the best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

To begin with, it is understandable that people now prefer to travel in a group. Since people today spend more time on their work, so they usually do not have time to plan a trip. And traveling in group provides a good solution, it helps people save the time spent on researching and planing. For example, there are many travel agencies today provide enormous plans for customers. Customers can choose their own plan depending on their budget, and no matter which kind of plan, the tour guide would bring tourist to famous sightseeing spots of a country.

However, traveling in a group may not be as flexible as traveling alone. The reason is that, the tour guides have to consider the group's benefits when they are leading a group. Thus, tourists who travel in groups may not be able to go to the place they like, or stay in bed until they are fully awake. Yet traveling by ourselves can avoid this situation. For instance, I remember when I was traveling in a group in Thailand, I always had to wake up at seven a.m., which is super early for me. But considering there are other tourists in the group, I had no choice but waking up early. In contrast, when I traveled to Korea with my friend, I could sleep until I want to wake up, since we can control our pace for traveling.

Another merit in traveling without a group is that we can understand a place's culture more deeply. Different from having a tour guide that arrange everything for you, traveling alone often requires asking for help from local residents. I remember while I was in Korea, I went to a temple that was not popular to the tourists. Therefore, there were no guide about the temple, and I had to talk to the residents there to learn the history of it. And since I was not traveling with a group, I had abundant time to talk to them.

In conclusion, though traveling in a group can help as save abundant of time, traveling by ourselves can allow us to see the real appearance of a country, hence, it makes the whole trip more interesting.