• Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way to travel is in group led by a tour guide.

Traveling is one of the most enjoyable activities that one can do to be relieved from the pressure of modern lifestyle, and distract their minds from daily problems. A question which can be raised in this regard is that in what conditions people can have more pleaser during traveling. Some people state that it is better to travel with a group and a leader, while others prefer to travel alone. I subscribe to the former opinion, and in the ensuing paragraphs, I will provide two reasons to illustrate my point of view.

To begin with, traveling with a group provide an environment that everyone can improve their social skills, which is very important in today’s modern life. There are different kinds of people with diverse opinions and beliefs in a group, so one can be familiar with several types of personality, and recognize how she or he can deal with other people. Moreover, they can find new friends which they are more comfortable with. From my own experience, when I was a student in high school, some of my friends and I went to a camp with a large group. We had a lot of fun during the trip, and we met some students in other schools. Besides, we participated in group discussions and found out that how it can be challenging to deal with others’ opinion, and I understood the fact that how I can deal with other people with no conflict. Hence, it is clear that when people go on a trip with a group, they have more opportunity to find some new friends and widen their relationships; therefore, they can build their social skills.

The second reason is that people can manage their time better when they go with a tour guide. Nowadays, life is being complicated, and people are busy, so they have less free time to invest in their travels; thus, they try to maximize their use of time. When people go to another city or even another country, they are not familiar with the most interesting or more beautiful places there. So, they have to consume a lot of time and energy to find out the better places to visit, but with leading a tour guide, they can manage their time and have more fun. For instance, three years ago, I went to Kashan, a city in the center of Iran, on my own for two days. Although it was a good trip and I had a great time in there, I realized that there were more places which be worthy of visiting, but I could not make it, because of the bad management. On the contrary, one of my friends told me that she had seen most of the historical places in Kashan in two days because she had gone with a tour guide.

In conclusion, considering both reasons mentioned above, I believe that traveling in a group with a tour guide, has some advantages that outweigh traveling alone. First, one can improve their social ability and find new friends; also, they can maximize their use of time by letting an experienced person guide them.