Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Boys and girls should attend separate schools Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the 21st century, the fierce discussion on gender issues is continuously uprising, and the education method of some traditional single-gender schools is also pushed to be controversial. I believe that it is a mistake to give students education separately by their birth sex. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

To begin with, I would like to say that educate both girls and boys in the same environment promotes their perspective of gender equality. I think it would be fair to say that in most cases, providing education equally to all children despite what birth sex they will help to minimise stereotypical gender perception and encourage children to develop themselves freely without discouragements from traditional gender regulation. For example, girls should also be encouraged to be strengthful and brave, although tradition values those traits as "masculine"; boys should also be allowed to express their sensual and tender personalities. My personal experience was a compelling illustration of this. I can recall the time when I was in elementary school. Our headmaster especially emphasised gender equality and unisexual education-- we were encouraged to wear as free as we want, be told to participate in activities despite gender labels. Even though six years do not take a large proportion in our education period, we were still rooted in a progressive recognition of equality. We are still proud of the value our elementary brought us until today.

Furthermore, I am of the opinion that creating more chances to contact and communicate with the gender different from children themselves contributes to more progressive mutual respect between sex. It is part of human nature for most cisgenders to have the desire to communicate and build a connection with another gender. Girls and boys participating in an identical education contribute to establishing a clear understand of another sex and learning respect between them mentally and physically. Girls and boys will understand each other by cooperating during games or doing a group project, and the social manners they learnt into practice with teachers' guidance. For instance, a long-term observation report I have read indicated that teenagers who had been encouraged to game and talk with kids of the opposite sex during their kindergarten and elementary school period do better on maintaining both heterosexual friendship and love-relationship. In addition to the intersocial relationship, appearance shaming and menstruation shaming, the two most frequently seen problems among teenagers were observed to have an apparent connection with the sex education and social manner training they had received during their childhood.

In conclusion, I strongly feel it is critically important to set an educational environment where different sex interact. This is because more interactions promote the perspective of equality when two sex have more chances to understand each other better, and practical communication is the foundation for students to build a proper sexual perception.