Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Classmate are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school. Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

I completely agree with the statement which states that classmates are a more important influence than parents on child’s success school for reasons. First, when we were young, we tend to talk with friends, classmates in particular, more than parents. Second, during school years we spend more time with our classmate than parents. The following essay will provide an example to support my opinion.

The first reason that I agree with the statement is when we were young; we tend to talk with friends more than parents. In fact, during a teenage period, a lot of peoples fight with their parents. For example, when I was 16 years old, in 10th-grade, I fought with my mom because she disapproved I to join a summer trip with my classmates. We didn’t speak to each other for months. Unfortunately, I couldn’t make it to the trip, and I remembered speaking with my friends about how stubborn my mom was. This experience with my mother shows me that during that period of my life; I willingly speak with my classmates more than my parents—this leads to my agreement with the statement.

Second, the reason why I agree with the statement is, during school years, we spend more time with our classmate than parents. There are only 24 hours in a day. Typically, we spend 10 - 12 hours with our classmates. For example, my mother is an accountant, during work seasons, we barely see each other even we live in the same house. On the other hand, I meet my classmate every day, knowing they are coming to school. I remember spending time with my classmate from 6:00 A.M. before school start till the school end at 17:00 P.M. Afterwards, we still spending time together for after school activities this includes playing basketball, hanging out at a mall, going to the theatre for movies, studying for the exams at their places, etc. The experience above shows me that we spend time with our classmate more than our parents during school years. This act as a foundation for me to agree with the statement.

Hence, I agree with the statement which states that classmates are a more important influence than parents on child’s success in school. First, when we were young, we tend to talk with friends about things than parents. Second, we spend time with friends more than parents for that period of life.