Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school.

• It has been disputing for long time which has more important influence classmates or parents. It leads us to wonder which one is more prominence. I hold the belief that classmates play an essential role than parents.

• To begin with, the moderate competing with associates hugely stimulate child’s ambition. For example, when I was in 7th grade, I didn’t do well in math in the beginning, as I thought all those formulas really intricate for me. In addition, I always scored low compared with my peers, and so further I felt very stressful. However, under such peer pressure, my score gradually increased, because I studied harder and tried to surpass my friends. This moderate competition actually helped me make much progress in my math. At the end, I graduated by best math grade in my class. From this experience, I really think that moderate competition can bring positive impact on a child’s success at school.

• The cooperating with friends would induce new ideas we never though before. Sometime teachers assigned so difficult homework that a student can’t figure out by one’s own. Yet two heads are better than one. If children work with friends, then it would take less time to complete the homework. To illustrate, when I was a 5th grade, immense homework such as math and science bombarded me. Although the questions of every subject were a few, they are extremely abstract and intricate. Spending more than 20 hours for a homework does not guarantee students to dig up a feasible approach. In order to deal with the assignments, my classmates and I teamwork to brainstorm. In my experience, although no one is capable to offer a workable answer, everyone would provide some partial results. By combining all the partial results, usually the solution would appear.

• The friendship motivates students to achieve outstanding performance. As a high school student, I was fond of studying science. What entertains me more is discussing science with friends. Joy shared with others are more enjoyed. Regularly, we discuss plentiful problem varying from geology to astronomy. Not only had we a cheerful time but also learned a lot. In the time, I build a stronger foundation in scientific knowledge and understanding.

• In conclusion, I think classmates have more influence on child’s success in school. Not only because moderate competition with classmates bring positive impact but because they can work together.