Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Competition between friends always has a negative effect on their friendship.

In this competitive society, maintaining a good relationship with friends have been an important issue in our daily life. Some people believe that the competition between friends would inevitably influence their friendship. However, from my point of view, I hold the opinion that competition can reinforce the relationship because academic competition between friends benefits both their studies, competition helps friends know more about each other and it also makes them spend longer time together.

First, truly, in school, this is intensive competition between friends and they have to fight for themselves to get more resources. Nonetheless, the point is, expect to compete with each other, they can also help each other to make progress together. Thus, it becomes easier to stand out among peers. Take my friend Eric and me as an example. We became close friends during high school. At that time, students always undertake much pressure on their grades. Teachers often hand out plenty of homework which is so massive that it is nearly impossible to finish on our own, especially when met a difficult problem. Eric is willing to discuss problems with me and by working together, we can always hand over homework on time. Meanwhile, sharing knowledge helps us absorb what we learned from class, hence we all get good grades in the final exam.

Second, without competition, just daily communication can hardly make us possess a better understanding with our friends. There is an old saying, "The best way to defeat your enemy is to know your enemy." which reflects the fact that competition brings friends closer although they are not really enemies. For instance, when friends are playing a basketball game. Being the temporary adversary will show a number of qualities of a friend, including how he will treat other people, what he will do when you are competing with him, and his attitude towards those competitors that he does not know. All these together are significant aspects of a long-lasting relationship.

Third, a competitive environment will lead friends to work efficiently and as a consequence, they tend to have more available time to share with each other which is another factor improving the friendship. As is known to us, a high pressure environment force people to focus on their target and therefore, improves their efficiency. By completing their tasks early, they will have more time to stay with friends such as playing games and walking around in a park.

With all reasons I mention above, I can safely draw the conclusion that the competition between friends is not always negative but sometimes positive because friends will progress in their academic learning, getting to understand more about each other, and spending more time staying together.