Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Drivers should pay a fee for driving in busy city streets when there is the greatest heavy traffic.

With the rapid development of the society, traffic problems raise up in many cities. Too many cars in streets may cause low efficiency and environmental pollution. In this situation, some people propose that drivers should pay a fee for driving in busy city streets when there is a greatest heavy traffic. However, I disagree with the statement.

First, it is useless to charge the extra fee for efficiency. when a citizen drives his car in a road, it is always that he has chosen the best way to get to his destination. he has found the best way. so many cars in a single road just imply the road is important and brings so much convenience for people dwelling in this city. there was a time that I wanted to go to school but I was late actually. Although I was in a hurry, I chose a busy street instead of others, which was much closer than any other street. it was surely crowded, but it was still the best way for me to school.

Even I was asked extra fee and then I still could not change my ideas because I had to get to school on time. so the policy is not useful and not reasonable to improve efficiency.

Second, more pollution may be caused by this policy. If there are many people deciding to change their way, of course this street will have less stress, but other longer ways will suffer. it is possible that the other ways become crowded and the overall cost for drivers increased. then , cars will release more polluted fumes and lead to more pollution.

Granted, some one may assert that to charge for an extra fee does have its merits. it can surely make some people who do not want to pay for the fee find a road with less car, and thus earn more money for the government. Nevertheless, the money itself should be used to improve the traffic in the city instead of from causing more problems for the city.

Since all discussions above, even having some benefits, the statement is not so reasonable.