Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Eighteen-year-olds are not mature enough to vote.

Use specific examples and details to support your opinion.

Currently, there is a widespread discussion about the effects of movies and television to young people are more negative or positive. In my perspective, however, they have more positive effects and play an important role in young people's life.

First of all, visual media is an excellent way to relax the young. In recent yeaers, numerous homework and extra lessons after school make them tired and stressful. However, thay can seldom enjoy some outdoor activities, as their friends are suffering from the same terrible tasks, which makes indoor activities, such as visual media, seem a good solution. A few months ago, I was quite curious about why my little sister often watching TV at home instead of playing with her friends, then she told me they were all busy with their homeworks. Therefore, in my opinion, enjoying visual media will better the young’s mental health today.

On top of that, new movies and TV programs are wonderful social topic. When you want to start a concersation with someone you have never meet, it is not a good choice to begin with economic issues, political events or scientific problems, as you two may major in different subject and talking about political events is a dangerous behaviour for those who live in a foreign country. Nevertheless, the experience of watching the same video or the coherent preference of one type of opera provides you with the road to get closer to each other. As my academic advisor once said, “Though both of you major in history, you may have totally different opinion toward the Renaissance, which will lead to an arguement”. It it not worthy to have a fight with your potential girlfriend, right?

In conclusion, movies and televisions have more positive effects than negative effecte on young people, since it provides them with a neccessary entertainment and a suitable topic for communication.