Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family is an important and essential part in your life whether we support extended and nuclear family is not a big deal. Family is a place where we are grown to become a compete man and it also teach us how to survive in this uncertain world. Joint family is less good now than in the before. It is quite possible someone would support nuclear family by delineating many facts and reasons. But, my view is to champion the older and comprehensive family for the following two important reason.

The main reason is that extended family beget to buttress family relationship. In a joint family where, every family members are get the chance to know each other better. By passing a long time in the same family that will strengthen family bond. For example, in the city of Shibchr an upazilla of Bangladesh I was born in a joint family. In my family we were 10 members including my father, mother, brother, sister, uncle, aunt, nephew, cousins, grandma, and grandparents. In the time of occasion such as Eid, we were feeling unbounded joy. Literally, we had not enough to felt lonely and isolated. All the time, we were in a festive mood. During special visit of our relatives visit, we were in full festive mood. As you can see that, extended family means extended joy and many ways to celebrate the joy, love and warmth.

Another reason is that, comprehensive family is the way to hold the power. In early time, the power lies only the number of people of your family. The more people in your family, the more power you have. To be more specific, as I was raised in a joint family, we have had controlling power to the village. During confliction and natural disaster we were gone to compromise and help other family members. Specifically, during the cyclone Sidor attacked our south part of Bangladesh. We had formed a social group in order to help the afflicted families. Most of the members of our group were came from my family. As a result, we had not faced any complications and able to hold the organization unity. This experience taught me that, if we are united together nobody will able to harm and we will able to take any social reformation approach by applying power.

In conclusion, although someone would provide different vies in order to support the nuclear family but in long run these approaches will not sustain. Not only, joint family helps to build a good bond among family members but also it will throw the chance to held power and social activities. So, we should build our previous extended family version in lieu of nuclear and isolated family.