Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Government should build more art museum or music performance than recreational facilities?

The appearance of recreational facilities not only enriches people’s lives, but also gives rise to the question argued recently that whether government should fund recreational facilities rather than art museums and music performance centers. Though recreation facilities have their place in one’s life, there is no substitute for art museums and music performance centers.

Admittedly, recreation facilities function as a platform for people to loosen up. As a matter of fact, there are a large number of entertainment projects introduced or invested, such as night clubs, bars, amusement parks and stuff. Besides, an increasing number of cities are planning to research their own amusement parks which are a lot cheaper and more enjoyable than Disney. Thus, comparing art museums and music performance centers, merchants are more willing to invest recreational facilities, as these are more likely to appeal to modern people, for which they can make more profits. In this situation, what administrators need to do is to finance artistic and musical institutes, as these all play a significant role in our society.

For starters, artistic and musical institutes are beneficial to children’s intellectual advancement. Living in such a world flooded with competition, intellectual development is becoming increasingly crucial in the young age of a child, as it makes an individual have a competence of learning quickly and thinking deeply, outperforming others easily. Fortunately, the institutes of art and music, which need students’ powerful creativity and imagination, will exercise certain areas of children’ brain, involving in reasoning and learning. The experience of my cousin, a 9-year-old in grade 3, can be a compelling case for this point. At the beginning, he had little interest in her math study and used to give poor performance, whereas after visiting a music performance center, he changed a lot. In this center, he learned how to listen and enjoy the music; moreover, he was given a great quantity of chances to imagine the scene of music and create his own song, which stimulate certain abilities of kids. In half a month, my cousin became increasingly passionate with his math, especially some questions involved in creativity and reasoning, which is undoubtedly attribute to his experience of the music center.

In addition, art museums and music performance centers help children find out what they are really interested in. At such a young age, chances are high that chirdren may have no clue what they are passionate about and what they want to do in the future. Chances are also high that they may not be into compulsory courses like science, math, history and language, because they are usually difficult. In this situation, all children need to do is to go to art museums and music performance centers to experience what they are like. After entering such new and different realms, they may discover how enthusiastic they become about either of them or even both of them, developing a personal strong suit. Sometimes it is the case that the earlier they find their interests, the sooner the can get on the right track suiting them well. Therefore, it is common to see that young children hold solo exhibitions or concerts to show how much they like what they do.

In conclusion, regardless of the relatively small merits of funding recreational facilities, government should instead finance art museums and music performance center which are lack of funding, as they can develop children’ intelligence, help children find their interests.