Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Given that the dire economic circumstances in many societies, deciding on which part of the society should give more support is very challenging. Some people hold a negative perspective toward any assistance from the government for supporting artists, while others believe that sports teams don’t require additional support from the government. I subscribe to this group, and I think artists deserve to get more funds.

To begin with, art could be a very great source for the whole society to alleviate their stress and anxiety by use of it. In fact, with any financial support from the government in the art works, the majority of the society, even, with low income would have the chance of contributing to art, which leads to a more tranquil and peaceful society. As an illustration, with the government’s help for music bands, the concert tickets will cost lower than usual. As a result, everyone could afford to be in those concerts, and enjoy live music instead of staying at home and watching music from television. This could provide a low-cost source of entertainment which is lucrative for families to have delightful moments together. This example demonstrates how it is important that the government should focus on the art field, in order to have a happier society.

Moreover, many private sponsors comply to support sports teams, which is beneficial for both the sports team and the sponsor. In this case, the government should not consider spending money on those teams. For instance, all the football teams in my country, Iran, have a corporation to financially support them. The corporation’s logo is printed on the athlete’s shirt which is a kind of advertisement, and reciprocally they spend money on that team to thrive. The football team has received all kinds of champions they need, the hotel for their practice trips, their extra clothes, and so forth. Hence, no concern remained for the government to pay attention to.

To put it in a nutshell, I firmly believe that artists need more monetary support from the government than athletics. With more assistant given to art works, the majority of people in the society could enjoy them and release their pressures. In addition, it is not of necessity that the government spends money on athletes because many local and private companies give the required support to the sports teams.