Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people say that arts are more important than sports, so governments should spend more money in support of these. However, I do not agree with that statement and I believe that governments should spend more money in supporting athletics for three reasons.

First of all, Athletics events are renowned throughout the world and winning price in these events will increase the image of the country higher. For example, a third world country whose economy is not that good and not popular to general people throughout the world can get a lot of media coverage and popularity by winning a price from popular sports events like Olympic. However, if the country spends most of its money in support of art then they will not get the media coverage like the Olympic events as arts events are not that much popular to normal people. So, by spending more money on athletics a country can get lots of recognition and popularity.

Second of all, Athletics requires lots of money compare to arts. For example, for training different athletics need different instruments and different training grounds which involve a lot of money. On the other hand, most of the arts do not need a different environment and do not require that much money as all of them share lots of common ground. So, if the government spends more money in support of arts then larger porting of this money will be idle and will not be used for practical purposes. By spending the money on athletics, it is possible to gain the main purpose of investment.

Finally, spending more money on athletics will help to promote education in school and college. For example, a student who has talent in athletics gets a scholarship from government-sponsored athletics program and by this process, the lacking students who do not have money to study can participate in education. However, if the government does not spend money on the athletic sponsored program then these talented students will not be motivated to get an education as they do not have the money.

In conclusion, for these above three reasons, I think the government should spend more money in support of athletics than to spend in support of the arts.