Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Grades encourage students to learn.” Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

In the modern world, the vast majority of countries over the globe are using the same method of grading to certain the level of their students' knowledge. So widespread is this approach that a controversial question arises here which is whether grades push students toward gaining more knowledge or not. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the idea that grades make students learn more. I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, one reason why I agree with this statement is that grading is a means to assess the level of the students' gained knowledge, and this leads them to feel a demand for learning. Most exams designed by educators have many standards that according to them the students will be aware if they need to absorb more information and achieve more comprehension. Moreover, sometimes students feel that their low grade doesn't mean their lack of hard-working because they think the exams are hard, but comparing with other students' higher grades reveal that they are not well-informed students so more learning is an urgent action for them to do. According to a study carried out by the University of Tehran proves this idea that competition among students brings about working with diligence and care to learn, and this improvement happens just by comparing their grades with each other classmates.

Secondly, not also do grades make a feeling of competition among students, which plays a pivotal role to encourage them to learn, but also it could be a determining factor to find an appropriate job in the future or continue their education at a high prestige university. One of the most important requirements to get a good position in a firm is the grades' report because it is the most reliable documents about students an interviewer could consider as the amount of students' knowledge. As a result, students try to do their best and gain higher scores which will be a guarantee of getting a job. Besides, if learners want to get admission to high tech universities, they need to work hard and try to get top scores in their classes. Consequently, grades as a whole are one that makes them learn until rich at a high level of quality. As an example, for now, I am a Ph.D. student in mechanical engineering, and had I not made a huge effort, I would not get this position.

In brief, I strongly believe that grades directly help students to keep going and learn more which means that students avoid achieving superficial understanding. These positive effects of grades are because of determining the amount of students' knowledge and also help them to pursue their dreams of getting perfect positions in companies or continue to the next level of their education.