Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The increase in automation will lead to people loosing their jobs.

Automation has been sought after by every industry to increase performance. Especially in the 21st century where big data is relevant automation plays a vital role. But automation is not a new term. Industries have been automating various process for a long time. By taking a look at the past we can see that automation has not affected job security. So even in this age of increased automation, I believe people won’t loose their jobs.

When you automate any process – yes a lot the manual work is reduced. People tend to feel that this can be a threat to job security for many. But if you see from the industry’s point of view, now they have the time and resources to invest on new things. This can create to new jobs. The manual jobs may be replaced by automation, but new jobs are also created by automation. Also automating a process and maintaining the systems required for optimal running is also a job.

The only down side to automation is that people need to upskill themselves if they want to survive in the job market. Enough jobs are available, but people with the right skills for the job are less in number. Upskilling may not be possible for everyone. Automation may pose a job threat to those people.

Even though automation can be seen as a minor job risk, the benefits are large. The people who are doing the repetitive manual tasks can now focus on doing more relevant things like analysis and solving different problems. Increased automation also brings and increased number of new jobs with greater skill. I feel automation is necessary for improvement in the industry and that it cannot be called a job threat for all. It may pose as a threat to some, but it also opens the opportunity for other things.