Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (students like them) and effective helping students in learning.

When speaking of an excellent teacher, we usually refer to someone who can not only help students academically, but also arouse their enthusiasm. But some people believe that kind of teachers to be unrealistic, and under such a fierce competition, it is like a impossible mission for teachers to kill two birds with one stone. From my perspective, the above-mentioned statement seems too pessimistic, and there is a good chance for teachers to make it. I am going to elaborate my point in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, a popular teacher is likely to stir up students' passion for study. Popular teachers usually have distinctive personal charisma, which can lead students to generate a feeling of affection or even worship for them. As a result, students are more willing to attend their lectures and finish the homework assigned by them. Objectively, these teachers' charisma works as an impetus to students' academic performance. My math teacher Sally is a good case. She is an enthusiastic teacher who always fills her class with a lot of fun, using entertaining and enlightening stories. We all like her very much, and try our best not to let her down in exams.

Secondly, teaching with wonderful methods can make a teacher both popular and effective in helping students learn. Knowledge can be taught in an interesting way. Some effective teaching methods not only enable students to have a deep understanding of knowledge, but also reduce the boredom during the process. If a teacher could adopt those methods, he / she would become popular among students and effective in teaching simultaneously. Jason is another popular teacher in my school. In his English class, we were once required to debate in English and try to convince each other. Since teenagers always desire to excel over others, we did our best to put everything we had learned into practice.

Admittedly, being popular and effective in teaching is never an easy task. After all, every social member is shouldering a great pressure, and teachers are no exception. School leaders and parents are all having high expectations on teachers, hoping them to foster more excellent students. Consequently, teachers have gradually become strict and impatient. However,if those teachers realize the problem and try to take it easy, things will be changed. For instance, if they can learn and practice wonderful teaching methods, students may like them and learn with more efficiency.

In a nutshell, it might be difficult for teachers to be both popular and effective in helping students learn. If they devote themselves to improving their personal charisma as well as teaching methods, they will get close to the goal.