Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

World events, the foundation of society's development, have been valued and even trigger a heated discussion over whether it is important to learn about world events or not. World events, in many people's views, are not vital, because they are unlikely to affect our life. Contrary to these people's opinions is my perspective that events happening around the world are significant for people, due to their contributions to academic performance and sterling qualities.

What must be prioritized is that learning about world events, rather than not knowing these events, is beneficial to people's academic learning, by extending their knowledge and cultivating their interests. To begin with, only by learning more about world events, can people reap a wider range of expertise. In detail, the more I watch the news, the more I reap and harvest a variety of knowledge from all over the world, and I would know more about history, arts, science, and something like that, which could expand my outlook; on the other hand, under no circumstances can I know such a large amount of knowledge if I do not learn about world events. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of world events in fostering people's interests. To explain it further, once, when I was reading a piece of science paper, it introduced a kind of new computer technology, and I found it so interesting, so after I entered university, I chose computer science as my major; however, it is impossible to foster my interest if I do not read the paper.

What is equally worth discussing is that by knowing about world events, instead of not learning about these events, people can promote their sterling qualities, by improving their persistence and innovation. First, it is well-known that people can learn about scientists' stories from the news. To be specific, Steven Jobs, the former CEO of Apple, was fired by his partners, but he never gave up, so he returned to the company and made it the biggest one in the world; in contrast, there is no chance for people to learn about this story if they do not know about world events. Furthermore, after people know about many events and news, they could be more innovative. Specifically, it is well-knowledged that we can gain various latest technology processes by reading papers, so we would learn how to invent new technologies, which can boost our innovation; on the contrary, will we be more innovative when we don't know the latest technologies?

Academic performance, the foundation of people's success, can be boosted, if they learn more about world events. Sterling qualities, the bedrock of people's development, should be facilitated when they know more about events happening around the world. In conclusion, only by learning more about world events, rather than not knowing about these events, can people reap numerous benefits.